$ 31.99

( / )

Hollow Bone Records

Please select all options.

Notify me when this product is available:

1 Maulana
2 Mr. Lucky (Rock Your Soul)
3 Kamili
4 Dunia
5 Hot Piano
6 Live & Awake
7 Jammin' with Herbie
8 Cat Call
9 Daydream (Soul Power)
10 Herbie's Blues
11 Hot and Heavy
12 Far Out
13 Scoochie

Purple vinyl

Hancock started his career with trumpet player Donald Byrd's group. He recorded his first solo album Takin' Off for Blue Note Records in 1962. "Watermelon Man" (from Takin' Off) was to provide Mongo Santamaría with a hit single, but more importantly for Hancock, Takin' Off caught the attention of Miles Davis, who was at that time assembling a new band. Hancock was introduced to Davis by the young drummer Tony Williams, a member of the new band. Although Davis disbanded his quintet to search for a new sound, Hancock, despite his departure from the working band, continued to appear on Davis's records for the next few years. Appearances included In a Silent Way, A Tribute to Jack Johnson and On the Corner. Hancock left Blue Note in 1969, signing with Warner Bros. Records. In 1969, Hancock composed the soundtrack for Bill Cosby's animated prime-time television special Hey, Hey, Hey, It's Fat Albert. Music from the soundtrack was later included on Fat Albert Rotunda (1969), an R&B-inspired album with strong jazz overtones. Hancock became fascinated with electronic musical instruments. Together with the profound influence of Davis's Bitches Brew (1970), this fascination culminated in a series of album in which electronic instruments were coupled with acoustic instruments. This compilation is culled from those 1960s albums and singles. Limited marble vinyl edition of 50 albums.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review